Honorary Fellow
BA Natural Sciences (Physics) (University of Cambridge), PhD in Physics (University of Cambridge)
Soft Matter and Biological Physics
Diversity at national and university level, particularly around women in science; science policy and communication; Member of the ERC’s Scientific Council; Chair of the Steering Advisory Group for Department of Culture, Media and Sports; music, walking
FRS (1999); DBE 2010; Mott Prize (IOP) 2005; Bakerian Prize Lecture (Royal Society) 2006; L’Oreal/UNESCO For Women in Science Laureate for Europe 2009; Faraday Medal and Award (IOP) 2010; UKRC Lifetime Achievement Women of Outstanding Achievement Award (UKRC) 2011.
Professor of Experimental Physics; Deputy Vice Chancellor; Master of Churchill College