Skip to main content

Frobenius Organ

Frobenius Orgelbyggeri was founded in Copenhagen by Theodor Frobenius in 1909. Theodor's sons Walther and Erik joined the company in 1944, at the same time that they began to build organs in the classical tradition, with mechanical actions and slider windchests. They build organs with characteristic modern casework, usually arranging the pipework of each manual such that three to six repeating arrangements of front pipes are shown in the faade. Theodore died in 1972 at the age of 87. His tradition lives on and our organ, installed in 1980, is considered to be one of the best in Cambridge.

Frobenius Specification

Swell (LH side of console)Pedal (LH side of console)Great (RH Side of Console)
Gedakt 8Subbass 16Fløjte 8
Gamba 8Oktav 8Fløjte 4 
Fløjte 4Gedakt 8Blokfløjte 2
Principal 4Superoktav 4Principal 8
Nasard 2 2/3Fagot 16Oktav 4
Oktav 2MixturOktav 2
Larigot 1 1/3Skalmej 4Quint 2 2/3
Scharf Terts 1 3/5
Krumhorn 8Trompet 8

Swell to Pedal
Great to Pedal
Swell to Great
Great + Pedal comb. coupled

Settable pistons
4 General thumb pistons
4 Swell thumb pistons
4 Pedal thumb pistons
4 Great thumb pistons
4 General toe pistons
4 Pedal toe pistons

Reversible pistons
Sw/Ped thumb piston
Sw/Gt thumb piston
Gt/Ped thumb piston
Sw/Ped toe piston
Sw/Gt toe piston
Gt/Ped toe piston

General Cancel Piston
Mechanical action
Balanced Swell Pedal